THE INDIAN SOCIETY OF INTERNATIONAL LAW EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

President

Pravin H. Parekh

Executive President

Maj Gen Nilendra Kumar

Vice Presidents

Manoj Kumar Sinha

G. V. Rao

M. Gandhi

Treasurer

Anupam Jha

Secretary General

Narinder Singh

EC Members

Luther Rangreji C. Jayaraj
V. G. Hegde D. N. Jauhar
Sanjay Parikh Monica Chawla
Benarji Chakka Aftab Alam
Rashmi Salpekar Shikhar Ranjan
Govindraj G Hegde Sanjay Kulshrestha

Send your completed application forms for membership to:

Secretary General

The Indian Society of International Law

V.K. Krishna Menon Bhawan

9, Bhagwan Dass Road, New Delhi-110 001, India

E-mail: isil@isil-aca.org; yearbookisil@gmail.com; Website: www.isil-aca.org

Ph: 23384458; 23384459; Fax: 23383783

ISIL YEARBOOK OF INTERNATIONAL HUMANITARIAN AND REFUGEE LAW



VOL. XXIII 2023

THE INDIAN SOCIETY OF INTERNATIONAL LAW NEW DELHI

Indian Society of International Law

Mode of Citation: Vol. XXIII ISIL YBIHRL (2023)

India: Rs. 400

Developing Countries: US \$ 50

US and Other Countries: US \$ 80

The ISIL Yearbook of International Humanitarian & Refugee Law (ISSN 0974-9500) is published annually by the Indian Society of International Law.

All the materials of ISIL Yearbook, (in duplicate), and all correspondence regarding the ISIL Yearbook should be addressed to the Chief Editor, ISIL Yearbook, V. K. Krishna Menon Bhawan, 9, Bhagwan Dass Road, New Delhi-110001. Manuscripts will not be returned under any circumstances.

Views expressed in the articles, book reviews, editorial comments, notes and in all other contributions to this ISIL Yearbook are those of respective authors and are not necessarily the views of the Board of Editors or of the ISIL, ICRC & UNHCR.

Edited, printed and published by Narinder Singh for the Indian Society of International Law, 9, Bhagwan Dass Road, New Delhi and printed at Shivam Offset Press, New Delhi.

ISIL YEARBOOK OF INTERNATIONAL HUMANITARIAN AND REFUGEE LAW

Editorial Board

Chief Editor Manoj Kumar Sinha

Managing Editor Narinder Singh

> Chief Adviser Anupam Jha

Executive Editor
George Dvaladze

Members

Gudmundur Alfedsson C. Jayaraj Sanoj Rajan Priya Pillai T.V.G.M.S Sudhakar Raul Pangalangan Rosemary Rayfuse Burra Srinivas Aftab Alam Abdul Rahim Vijapur Gunjan Chawla

Assistant Editor Vinai Kumar Singh Mihir Kanade Benarji Chakka Umesh Kadam V. G. Hegde B. C. Nirmal

ISIL Year Book of International Humanitarian and Refugee Law 2023

Articles Lawfare - To Win Without Fighting U. C. Jha 1 Combating Human Trafficking: A Benarji Chakka & ... 18 Mohammad Bitar Study of Anti-Human Trafficking Law And Policies In Cambodia, Myanmar and Thailand The New Frontier of War: International Sanoj Rajan ... 59 Counterterrorism Regime and Criminalising Humanitarian Action in India The Legal Protection of Children as Ayoola Abuloye ... 91 Victims of Armed Conflict Natural Environment During Armed Santosh K. Upadhyay ... 104 Conflicts And International Humanitarian Law: A Legal Analysis Of Protective Ambits Respecting Her International Ahimbisibwe Frank ... 127 Obligations? Analyzing Rwanda's 2014 Law Relating to Refugees Refugee Policy: The Path To A Aleena Gemmy Francis ... 154 Better India Ann Tresa Jais & Meena Tony Official Documents Public Law 117-351, 117th Congress An Act ... 168 ... 170 MLA Diplomatic Conference 2023 Additional Protocol to the Agreement for ... 265 Cooperation in the Examination of Refugee Status Claims from Nationals, 2023

General Assembly Resolution on the Arms Trade Treaty, 2023		272
Book Reviews		
U C Jha, <i>China: Courts, Criminal Law and Criminal Procedure Law</i> , Vij Books, New Delhi (India) 2023, pp. 477	Rashmi Salpekar	276
Claire Finkelstein, Derek Gillman, and Rosen: <i>The Preservation of Art and Culture</i> <i>in Times of War</i> , (Oxford University Press Oxford 2022), xxi+447 pp	Kanika Sharma 5,	280
Bibliography		
Select Articles on International Humanitarian and Refugee Law	Meenakshi Harith	283